Parables of the End Times

Every time I try to watch the news, I always end up frowning. As I am becoming more aware of the things that are happening around the world, my heart beats faster and I get so stressed out. I feel so burdened, angry, and brokenhearted at the same time. It’s as if watching the news alone can actually make me commit suicide. Earth is such a messed up placed that I don’t even want to live in it. But I know I have to endure my time. I have a role in the world, and that’s to light at least one little dark corner of this Earth.

Sin is really something that’s been taking over the world. It’s getting worse generation by generation. Well, it’s not as if I’m saying the world 1000 years ago was better. I’m pretty sure the world was as chaotic as it was a long time ago. The treacherous nature of the world today shouldn’t surprise me. Nothing is new under the sun.

I’m just a teenager. The closest help I could put out there is through my writing or drawings. I am trying my best for my creations to be pleasing to God’s eyes. It’s the least I could do for now.

Recently, my family attended a conference of Dr. Don Carson, and it was good to be introduced to the parables again. Since I haven’t been exactly reading the Bible, it’s such an eye opener to read it again when someone is actually explaining to you what is going on and what it all means. From the parable of the Samaritan to the parable of the talents and sower, I have actually learned more in 5 hours than I ever do with all of Wildfire’s lessons. I have realized so many things about Jesus as my eyes have been opened to the explanation of His very words.

As I am thinking about it tonight, I feel very burdened and sad knowing how much I’d fail God with my sins constantly. Even getting angry at someone is already a sin. And if I’ve done something wrong to someone, I have not committed sin to that certain person but to God himself. I know I can never be perfect. I can’t be in the same level as he is. I really deserve to be in hell the moment I was born to this earth. I am already dead the moment I was born.

But what relieves me so much is that Jesus has paid the price for my punishment. Through the cross, His perfect life was slaughtered in the cross so that I wouldn’t have to go through the hell that was bound for me. He bought me and saved me by using His life. And I know I’ve heard this so many times in church; been through this explanation of the Calvary for so many times… but somehow, today I’m just starting to feel so emotional about how a Perfect Man like Him would save someone who made so much mistakes. I mean why would someone who ruled in Heaven go down to corrupted Earth just to die to bring life to a bunch of dead, treacherous people? Why would a Master endanger His life to save such a lowly and stupid servant? He did nothing wrong and I do everything wrong. If He suffered so much for me, I feel this strong urge to repay Him back. I have to give back what belongs to Him: my life. Because I was dead but now I’m alive through Him. His sacrifice was the greatest love of all and I can’t believe I’m only starting to feel it now even though I’ve been told a thousand times already that he loves me.

One of the points that stuck with me clearly was the parable of the weeds (Matthew 13:24-30, 36-43). An owner of a field plants good seeds in his field but in the night, an enemy plants a bunch of weeds. When it was sprouting, the owner’s plants and the enemy’s weeds grow together. His servants ask if he’d like to pick out the weeds, but then he says to just let them grow together. When the plants and the weeds grew together and were ready to harvest, the field workers picked out the weeds first and burned it. Then they harvested the plants and stored it in the owner’s warehouse.

End times. That’s what it was. Not everyone will make it to the safe storeroom. Not everyone can make it to Heaven.

There are so many that believe hell is not real or Jesus can save people that are already in hell. Let me tell you this, in case you forget, hell is real and it is inescapable. Jesus may save you from going to it when you’re in earth, but there is no way out of it once you are there. Hell is a place where no one repents to God.

People are given a certain amount of time in Earth. I believe that God gives everyone a chance to hear His words but not everybody listens. He plants seeds in the field, but not everyone survives. Just like in the parable of Lazarus and the rich man (Luke 16:19-31), the rich man in hell wanted to warn his family by sending Lazarus back to Earth, but Abraham said that they have Moses and the Prophets in Earth. Let them listen to them. But then the rich man corrected Abraham saying, “No, father Abraham. If someone from the dead goes to them, they will repent.” Then Abraham said, “If they do not listen to Moses and the Prophets, they will not be convinced even if someone rises from the dead.” See, Someone did rise from the dead and still… people are still ending up in hell because they’ve deprived themselves from believing the truth. And I know that God is love, but the truth is, He is more just and righteous than He is love.

Not everyone can enter Heaven. God has already chosen His people.

Recently, my mother has been saying “Jesus will come back soon” and honestly, I was not okay with her saying that. Maybe it’s because a part of me was in denial that He’d actually come in my lifetime. The “soon” I always thought of was a “soon” that I could witness. But after yesterday, I realized, my attitude hadn’t been set right. I had to have the same attitude that my mother has because seriously, Jesus really is coming soon. The end times are already here. Revelations is already happening. I may not know exactly when Jesus will come but I should anticipate it day by day. I might even die on earth before I actually get to see Him set foot on this land again. I mean even in Paul’s time, he said Jesus was coming soon and 2000 years later, He’s still not here—but He’s still coming soon. God’s time standards are not the same as hours. So while we are here, we should do our best to double God’s assets or at least increase it before Jesus comes back. It’s just like the parable of the talents (Matthew 25:14-30). The master gave his three servants money according to what they can do and left. While gone, the one with ten talents (measurement of gold) earned ten more and the one with five talents earned five more. The one with one talent on the other hand just buried his master’s one talent because he was afraid he wouldn’t gain anymore. When the master came back, he praised the two and shared his happiness with them—servants. But the other lazy guy who didn’t even put his master’s money to the bank so that it could gain at least some interest was punished. I certainly don’t want to be that sluggard. I want to double God’s assets before Jesus comes back. I don’t know when He’ll come back, so I have to prepare and be ready.

I’ve now discovered this craving to know who Jesus is and what He had said in His time. I’m pretty sure He talked more about lots things when he was actually alive, but I’ll stick with what the Bible has to offer. I really should read the Bible often, because I have to admit, it may be such a bore in the start, but really, when I start reading the Bible seriously, I always end up wanting to read more and more. I want to know him more and more. Because I feel like I’ve been devoting my time on people who won’t really matter that much once I die, I have to fix my priorities. I should love God first before anything. It sounds easy, but I know it’s harder than it seems. But I can try.

Leave a Reply

